Love in an Elevator

A poem

Greg Thomas
Mar 17, 2020
Photo by Jason Dent on Unsplash

When you walked through the doors

I knew I could love you.

Your smile.

Your laugh.

Your kindness.

My heart hurts at what could have been.

Imagined thoughts of the joys we might have had.

You stand in one corner and I in the other.

Six feet apart is what we’ve been told.

Afraid I might cough while you are nearby.

This box that we share seems so small, just us two.

If one more walks in, I don’t know where I’d go.

The box stops.

I’m afraid.

But it’s only your floor.

Goodbye, my lost love! I will see you again!

A new person walks in. I’m never alone.

The box starts to move. Our eyes meet from afar.

I know I could love them, if just given the chance.

Alas, still remains,

the imposed six feet zone.

--

--

Greg Thomas

Father. Writer. Teller of embarrassing dad jokes. Genre hopping before it was cool. MORE FICTION: https://www.amazon.com/Greg-Thomas/e/B00RUIE3RQ